Angebote zu "Sarah" (20 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

A. Tooley, Sarah: The history of nursing in the...
20,29 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Erscheinungsdatum: 01.05.2019, Medium: Taschenbuch, Einband: Kartoniert / Broschiert, Titel: The history of nursing in the British Empire, Autor: A. Tooley, Sarah, Verlag: Alpha Editions, Sprache: Englisch, Schlagworte: HISTORY // General, Rubrik: Geschichte, Seiten: 462, Informationen: Paperback, Gewicht: 612 gr, Verkäufer: averdo

Anbieter: averdo
Stand: 22.02.2020
Zum Angebot
Folklore in British Literature
67,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Folklore provides a metaphor for insecurity in British women's writing published between 1750 and 1880. When characters feel uneasy about separations between races, classes, or sexes, they speak of mermaids and "Cinderella" to make threatening women unreal and thus harmless. Because supernatural creatures change constantly, a name or story from folklore merely reinforces fears about empire, labor, and desire. To illustrate these fascinating rhetorical strategies, this book explores works by Sarah Fielding, Ann Radcliffe, Sydney Owenson, Charlotte Brontë, George Eliot, Anne Thackeray, and Jean Ingelow, pushing our understanding of allusions to folktales, fairy tales, and myths beyond "happily ever after."

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.02.2020
Zum Angebot
The Goddess and the Thief
10,52 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

'A fabulous foray into a shadowy Victorian world' WOMAN&HOMEA beguiling novel of Victorian theft and obsession from the bestselling author of THE SOMNAMBULIST.Uprooted from her home in India, Alice is raised by her aunt, a spiritualist medium in Windsor. When the mysterious Mr Tilsbury enters their lives, Alice is drawn into a plot to steal the priceless Koh-i-Noor diamond, claimed by the British Empire at the end of the Anglo-Sikh wars.Said to be both blessed and cursed, the sacred Indian stone exerts its power over all who encounter it: a handsome deposed maharajah determined to claim his rightful throne, a man hell-bent on discovering the secrets of eternity, and a widowed queen who hopes the jewel can draw her husband's spirit back. In the midst of all this madness, Alice must discover a way to regain control of her life and fate...'An obvious comparison is with early Sarah Waters' GUARDIAN

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.02.2020
Zum Angebot
City Under Siege
36,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From USA Today bestselling author R.J. Prescott, comes a new, fast paced, standalone, contemporary suspense romance. London is a city in flames. Tensions are high and a critical situation is about to go from bad to worse. The Prime Minister wants to send a message, and the SAS will be the ones to deliver it.Emotional detachment is my speciality. I'm ruthless and cut throat, but there is nobody better.Sarah Tatem is an innocent. Caught up in a world in which she doesn't belong, and trying desperately to do the right thing. My job is to keep her safe long enough to get what's needed, and bring an end to this siege of terror.But something has changed. I've learned that the only thing stronger than loyalty is love, and now she's gone.My name is Lieutenant Tom Harper, and I'm about to unleash hell. This is a standalone Bristish romance novel, set in London during a turbulent time where the city is under siege from a series of horrific terror attacks. Sarah Tatem, heiress to a British Shipping Empire, discovers the source of her family fortune is much more sinister than she could ever have imagined. Tom Harper is the SAS Special Forces Operative tasked with keeping her alive while they work together to bring down the biggest terrorist threat the country has ever faced, and the clock is ticking…

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 22.02.2020
Zum Angebot
Victorian Prose
66,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This engaging, informative collection of Victorian nonfiction prose juxtaposes classic texts and canonical writers with more obscure writings and authors in order to illuminate important debates in nineteenth-century Britain -- inviting modern readers to see the age anew. The collection represents the voices of a broad scope of women and men on a range of nineteenth-century cultural issues and in various forms -- from periodical essays to travel accounts, letters to lectures, and autobiographies to social surveys.With its fifty-six substantial selections, Victorian Prose reaches beyond the work of Carlyle, Newman, Mill, Arnold, and Ruskin to uncover an array of lesser-known voices of the era. Women writers are given full attention -- writings by Mary Prince, Dinah M. Craik, Florence Nightingale, Frances P. Cobbe, and Lucie Duff Gordon are among the entries.Excerpts cover such topics of the age as British imperialism, the crisis of religious faith, and debates about gender. On the issue of colonial expansion, opinions range from Benjamin Disraeli's celebration of empire-building as evidence of Britain's glory to David Livingstone's promotion of commerce with Africa as a way to retard the slave trade and make it unprofitable. Views on 'the woman question' extend from John Stuart Mill's defense of women's rights to Mrs. Humphry Ward's opposition to women's franchise and Sarah Ellis's support for the domestic ideal.This invaluable resource features:.attention to important noncanonical writers -- including a generous selection of women writers;.a wide range of written forms, including periodical essays, travel accounts, letters, lectures, autobiographies, and social surveys;.both chronological and thematic tables of contents -- the latter encompassing subject areas such as England at home and abroad, the new sciences, religion, and the status of women;.selections drawn from the original nineteenth-century editions; and.annotations to each text that aid nonspecialists in understanding unfamiliar names, terms, and cultural debates.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 22.02.2020
Zum Angebot
British Empire
265,00 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This volume adopts a distinctive thematic approach to the history of British imperialism from the eighteenth to the twentieth century, bringing together leading scholars representing an unusually wide range of historical approaches to the British Empire. The contributors tackle the core themes in the history of the British Empire, including economics, religion, ideology, migration, the state, foundations of empire, decolonization, colonial knowledge, and imperial culture and identities. The essays trace the trajectory of their subject and explore how current understandings of issues have developed, examining key debates among historians. The British Empire is essential reading for all students and scholars of imperial and colonial history. Contributors: Tony Ballantyne, John Darwin, Andrew Dilley, Elizabeth Elbourne, Kent Fedorowich, Eliga Gould, Catherine Hall, Stephen Howe, Sarah Stockwell, Andrew Thompson, Stuart Ward, and Jon Wilson.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 22.02.2020
Zum Angebot
Defiant
8,90 CHF *
zzgl. 3,50 CHF Versand

Charged with a crime they didn’t commit, the MacKinnon brothers faced a death sentence until they agreed to serve the British Crown in the colonies and take up arms against the French. Allied with the Indian tribes who lived beside them in the wilderness, the Scottish Highland warriors forged a new breed of soldier… MacKinnon’s Rangers Major Connor MacKinnon despises his commander, Lord William Wentworth, beyond all other men. Ordered to rescue Wentworth’s niece after the Shawnee take her captive, he expects Lady Sarah Woodville to be every bit as contemptible as her uncle. Instead, he finds a brave and beautiful lass in desperate peril. But the only way to free Sarah is for Connor to defeat the Shawnee warrior who kidnapped her—and claim her himself. Torn by tragedy from her sheltered life in London, Lady Sarah is unprepared for the harshness of the frontier—or for the attraction she feels toward Connor. When they reach civilization, however, it is she who must protect him. For if her uncle knew all that Connor had done to save her, he would surely kill him. But the flames of passion, once kindled, are difficult to deny. As desire transforms into love, Connor will have to defy an empire to keep Sarah at his side.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 22.02.2020
Zum Angebot
Kennedy & Boyd Anthology of Nineteenth-Century ...
53,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

For nineteenth-century readers, the Scots and their books were everywhere, saturating British, imperial, and even American markets. Indeed, Scottish literature in Scots was widely enough read that through the period authors could sell a variety of dialects to an empire they themselves had educated. Literature of lowland and highland and all parts in between was so pervasive, the phenomenon sparked parodies like Sarah Greene's Scotch Novel Reading (1824), which imagines northern authors 'filling their Scotch pouches, and laughing to see how easily John Bull is gulled.' This anthology invites readers to experience the liveliness of those times, with all their innovations, opportunities, and raging debates. To facilitate readers' engagement with the ideas as well as the materials of nineteenth-century Scotland in its British and international contexts, items are arranged roughly chronologically, but also thematically. General readers will be able to enjoy the sudden changes of a burgeoning literature simply by tracking this book end to end. By recognizing the light framing of this anthology, they will also be guided toward a sense of the ongoing conceptual and literary struggles in a society that is challenged yet stimulated by conflicting forces. Traffic between country, town, and city; the tension between elites founded in class, education, or gender; the idea of home, set against the industry and empire that supported it; and the new and adjusted genres allowed by manufacture (e.g. the steam press), kept Scottish authors in constant movement. This book hopes that its readers, too, will get on the move. Students can develop an interest of their own, then use the book's structural hints to track it. Instructors can use the framework to connect easily to their own pedagogical focus in Scottish and other literatures. Caroline McCracken-Flesher teaches in the English Department of the University of Wyoming. Her research interests range widely through British Literature and Culture, with a current focus on Scottish writing. Recent books include Possible Scotlands: Walter Scott and the Story of Tomorrow (Oxford, 2005) and the edited book Culture, Nation and the New Scottish Parliament (Bucknell, 2008).

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 22.02.2020
Zum Angebot
No Ordinary Killing
2,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Empire has a deadly secret... The Number One Historical Thrillers Bestseller 1899, South Africa: As the Boer War rages, Captain Ingo Finch of the Royal Army Medical Corps pieces together casualties at the front. Then, recovering in Cape Town, he is woken by local police. A British officer has been murdered, and an RAMC signature is required for the post-mortem. Shocked by the identity of the victim, the bizarre nature of the crime and what appears a too-convenient resolution, Finch turns detective. He is soon thrust into a perilous maze of espionage and murder. Along with an Australian nurse, Annie, and an escaped diamond miner, Mbutu, Finch finds he has stumbled on a terrifying secret, one that will shake the Empire to its core... An extraordinary and unputdownable historical crime thriller and Kindle bestseller, perfect for readers of Philip Kerr and Abir Mukherjee. Praise for No Ordinary Killing 'Dawson has produced a strong thriller with something to say... An intriguing mix of John Buchan style adventuring and well researched period detail, full of superstition, mistrust and political intrigue... A very strong debut.' Sarah Ward, author of A Patient Fury

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 22.02.2020
Zum Angebot